Review: The Secret of Pembrooke Park

The Secret of Pembrooke ParkThe Secret of Pembrooke Park by Julie Klassen
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

So I have to start by saying although the cover and title intrigued me I kept putting off requesting this book because I want sure I’d like it when it was one of review choices in Bethany houses monthly fiction picks I decided I’d give it a go. Am I glad I gave it a chance!!! This book was really great.
I loved the bit of mystery in it:)
Abigail’s family has hit some hard times and they need to sell their house(and she gives up her dowry, so her sister can enjoy her season) and look for a cheaper place to rent. When a distant relative gives them an opportunity to live in a manor at a very low rent and they offer to pay for minimal staff. The only catch is the house hasn’t been lived in in 18 years and they have to promise to live there for a year.
When they get there it looks like everyone left in such a hurry there was still tea(now dried) in a teacup on the table.
It was very fun watching the mystery unfold, finding out if there really was a hidden treasure and if there was what it was.
I also loved seeing Abigail’s friendship with Pembrooke Parks former steward daughter and the budding romance with his son(who was also the local curate)
I would definitely recommend this book:) especially if you like historical, romance, and/or mystery stories

I received this book free from Bethany house publishing for my honest review

View all my reviews

3 thoughts on “Review: The Secret of Pembrooke Park

  1. Im so glad you enjoyed Julie Klassen’s latest book!! It’s definitely a great story with lots of mystery. I agree- anyone that loves historical fiction will certainly want to read this book:)

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Secret of Pembrooke Park quote | CherishedByAlecia

Leave a Reply

