Review: Dauntless

Dauntless (Valiant Hearts, #1)

Dauntless by Dina L. Sleiman

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I’ve wanted to read this book since I saw the cover! Don’t you just love it?? Any way, I had no idea till a bit later that this was a ya book, not a big deal though it didn’t make me want to read it any less.
I did have reservations with it being a take on Robin hood but with with a young girl instead….I was afraid it would just be a retelling of that story, boy was I wrong.:)
Although it had some similarities, namely stealing from the rich, that’s about were were it ends. And Robin was even mentioned which I thought was amusing.
I really loved the story and can’t wait for the next in the series

Here’s the description:

Though once a baron’s daughter, Lady Merry Ellison is willing to go to any lengths to protect the orphaned children of her former village. Dubbed “The Ghosts of Farthingale Forest,” her band of followers soon become enemies of the throne when they hijack ill-gotten gold meant for the king. 

Timothy Grey, ninth child of the Baron of Greyham, longs to perform some feat so legendary that he will rise from obscurity and earn a title of his own. When the Ghosts of Farthingale Forest are spotted in Wyndeshire, where he serves as assistant to the local earl, he might have found his chance. But when he comes face-to-face with the leader of the thieves, will he choose fame or love?

I received this book free from netgalley in exchange for my honest review

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

