Spiral braided bracelet tutorial

image

image

Because so many loved this design and because I had another wire wrap artist interested in learning how to make this design I thought it’d be fun to make a picture filled tutorial:) so first things first you’ll need

image

From left to right
3 in 1 plier
Flat nose pliers
Wire rounder
Nylon jaw pliers
Flush cutters

You also need
4 pieces of 20 gauge wire approx 16 inches long (these will be twisted together and will end up being 12 is inches after trimming)
1 piece of 2o gauge wire approx 12 inches long
And around 15 beads
(And of course whatever you want to close the bracelet, I use a lobster claw and a bit of chain)

First you need to twist the 16in pieces of wire.
Take 2 of them and twist em together, kinda like a twisty tie….being careful to keep it even and neat (it’s can take practice buy if you do it slowly you should get it:)) I fold the ends and use my nylon jaws to help hold the wire

image

image

image

Trim the ends and then twist the other 2 together.

Next part can get tricky, but only a bit 🙂
I take the 2 twisted wires and the single wire and kinda wrap the ends together with a piece of scrap wire (this is just to kinda anchor it so you can start easily)

image

image

Now slide a bead onto the middle wire (I’m using a black wire just so you can see it better)

image

Cross the twisted wires over

image

Now that middle wire needs come up, I’ve and under the bead (does that even make sense lol) to secure the crossover

image

Hopefully this picture explains better how to do it:)

image

Then just repeat till its the desired length
Here’s some more pics while I made it:)
Make sure you leave a bit of room on the end

image

image

Now I usually take out that first bead….it helps to add a bit of extra wire on the end for attaching the clasps

I snip the middle wire just before the bead, slide out the bead, trim the wire and tuck in the end

image

image

image

I’m still trying to figure out the best way to secure it (this is the best I’ve found yet)
Make sure tbe middle wire is tucked  in in both ends, and twist the twisted wire together trim the end a bit

image

Then u just made the end like you would an eye pin

image

image

image

Shape it like a bracelet and for this one I just added a bit of chain on some I add chain and a clasp

image

image

I hope this tutorial was helpful and thanks for taking the time to read it:)
Please let me know if you have any questions or if I made a step confusing 🙂 I’d love to see pictures if you make one. you can send the pictures or questions (or use the contact me form for the questions) to cherishedbyalecia@gmail.com

P.s. I’m happy to say the 2 gold tone bracelets have already been sold, the green and black is still looking for a home though feel free to contact me if Interested in it or a custom one:)

Leave a Reply

